top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

#InternshipPerks


As you probably already know this internship has a lot of perks and this week especially was full of them between meeting celebrities and being an official part of the media for the NC State Fair! Here is how the past two days have gone for me and a sneak peek into what I have coming up!

One thing you should know about my internship that is probably one of my favorite parts is that since it is radio and nobody can see us we can pretty much where whatever we want so my normal attire is t-shirt and yoga pants but I do everyday put on make up and do my hair even though I don’t have to and other people don’t. Well Thursday was the first day since I got this internship that I seriously came in looking like I rolled out of bed, I ran a comb through my hair put on NO make up what so ever and wore a big hoodie and yoga pants. So Tiana and I are in the studio looking at the run sheet to see what we are doing that day and first I see that we will be talking on air with the NC Governor, Pat McCrory so that was pretty cool. Then as I am sure you have all heard Lamar Odom is currently in critical condition after being found unconscious in a brothel in Nevada named the Bunny Ranch. Well the owner of that brothel whose name is Dennis Hof was also going to be talking with us on air about the situation, which I thought, was really cool considering how big that situation is with the media right now. So far two pretty important people were going to talk on air so I was thinking wow our show is packed today but then Brooke tell us that Shawn Wayans is going to be physically in our studio!! If you are not familiar with the name Shawn Wayans then let me give you a little information. Shawn is a comedian and actor best known for his roles in White Chicks, Scary Movie, The Wayans Brothers, Lil Man, etc. I was so excited not only had I randomly chose to work that day but then we were finally going to have our first celebrity in studio since getting my internship there and it was the only Thursday I was working.

The first half of the morning went by pretty fast since we had so much going on and then around 8:20 we got a call that Shawn had finally arrived downstairs so Elic said “girls you want to go bring them up the elevator?” and of course we jumped at the opportunity. I was pretty calm I know he is a celebrity but he is also a person but Tiana was having a complete “fan girl” moment in the elevator. She was screaming and jumping up and down so I tried to calm her down and we went and got him and brought him in the elevator and up to the 7th floor. When we first met we shook hands and I introduced myself but the elevator ride was awkward silence but I didn’t want to bother him and neither did Tiana. When we got upstairs Elic thankfully met him and started talking to him which made things much easier and then we took a few pictures, one of just him for our website and then I took one with him then Tiana and then Elic. After we got our photos it was time to take him into the studio and it was my time to Periscope! I was pretty glad that I was the one that go to do our Periscope because it meant that I got to be in the studio the whole time he was in the show and let me tell you the guy is truly hilarious. It was so hard not to laugh out loud while he was talking on the show because he was so funny but it was a great opportunity and I am so humbled to have been able to meet him and talk to him a little bit!!!

Preview for the rest of the weekend:

Tonight I get to work the NC State Fair with the Showgram which I am extremely excited about I even got an official media parking pass and badge which I thought was pretty cool. Also I get to work two remotes this weekend as well one tomorrow at Cricket in Wilson,NC with B939 and at Sams Club in Raleigh with Peanut Butter (Brooke) and Mimi!

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page