top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Dream Internship


​Hello everyone! So the main purpose of this blog is talk about about my dream internship but first you need to understand the background!

I was born and raised right outside of Raleigh, North Carolina so I have been listening to G105 (the number 1 hit radio station in Raleigh) since I can remember. Looking back I remember listening to Bob and the Showgram (G105's morning talk show) on the way to middle school in my mom's car. Ever since I decided to become a PR major I have dreamed of working with enterntainment and events. So a year and a half ago when my advisor told me I should probably start thinking about looking for an internship I immediately knew where I wanted to work. So I applied for the first time for the in January of 2015 figuring that maybe I could just work weekends. Unfortunately I was denied. But I knew that there was no harm in trying so again I applied for the Summer of 2015 knowing that I would be available the whole summer, again I was told that I missed the date to apply and they were unfortunately full already, so they told me to apply again in August for the fall. So the time came around in early August to apply, so I did stating that I was planning to graduate in Decemeber from Appalachian State and only had classes in Boone on Tuesday and Thursday so could work Thursday evening through Monday evening.

A few weeks later on my first day of class (Tuesday, August 18) I got an email around 6am from Peanut Butter (from G105 Bob and the Showgram) that she wanted to set up a phone interview. I freaked out after applying three times I finally was at least able to have an interview! I was so nervous and excited so I replied telling her I would be done around 3pm that day and had no class the next day. She then immediately replied and said that she would be calling around 3:30pm that same day. I was so nervous not only was this my dream internship but it was going to be my first ever phone interview and my first ever professional PR interview. As a senior I have had so many workshops in my classes about interviews but now that the time had come I was freaking out. So I did was most girls do, I called my mom ! Asking her tons of questions and she gave me typical motherly advice "TALK SLOW" "CALM DOWN" "BREATHE", etc. This advice was great but it wasn't making me calm down so I decided to call my aunt who works in HR at a bank as well as google "tips for a phone interview". My aunt and google gave me a few tips to help me out that I will post a link for. So I tried to listen to all the advice and calm down. This is a lot easier said than done especially for me because I get horirble anxiety. But I waited, tried to calm down, I live in a small apartment with 2 roommates and 2 dogs. My roommates were in class and I put my dogs in my room so I could sit in my roommates room to have a quiet place to concentrate. At about 3:40pm my phone rang and my stomach dropped to my feet.

The whole phone interview only last 7 minutes! She began by asking a little about me the normal then I had applied for a Promotions internship with the station and what I was going to be doing was a little different so she explained what I'd be doing saying that I would be working promotional events like I had originally wanted but that I'd also be working with programming and mainly with the Bob and the Showgram On Air !! That part made me a little nervous but when she asked if I'd be intersted i quicky said yes. I am one of those people who are up for anything and talking on air sounded pretty awesome. Although my major doesn't require me to have internship this internship was required to be used for school credit so she ended by saying that as long as I got it approved by my school the internship was mine. I replied something like thank you so much I wil get with my advisor then get back with her as soon as posisble sounding completely calm and collected and then we said our good-byes. I hit end on my cell phone and began having a complete teenage girl freak out! I was jumping up and down screaming and immediately called my mom!! I was talking so fast and freaking out so much that she thought I was crying. I seriously don't think I have ever been that excited in my life! THIRD TIMES THE CHARM!!

I still am completely speechless about getting this internship. After getting of the phone with my mom and calling all my friends who knew how much I had been wantning this internship I emailed my advisor to get the ball rolling with getting approval. I had no idea how much of a process it was going to be. With having an internship with the school there is a whole big process needing contracts from the dean, my advisor and with my boss at the station. This whole process took over a week. So finally a week and a half later (yesterday, Thursday August 27th) I recieved an email from my advisor saying my internship was approved for school credit! This was such great news, I texted Peanut Butter (boss) and told her that I was ready to start she replied at first on Friday morning saying I could start the following Friday (Sept. 4th) so I decided to relax and enjoy my last real weekend in Boone but when my phone vibrarted a few hours ago I was so excited it was her wanting me to start Monday! So now here I am writing this blog about to pack to go home tomorrow morning to spend some time with my mom and prepare for my first day!!!! So I hope ya'll enjoyed my first post! My next one will be all about day one, I am so excited ! Wish Me luck!!

Links:

Tips for Phone Interview:

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page