top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

5SOS Concert!


​Any 5 Seconds of Summer fans out there?!

Well tonight I worked my first concert with G105 and it was a blast! As most of you know by now I am commuting from Boone to Raleigh for this internship. Today I was in class in Boone from 8am until 1:30pm then immediately got in my car to drive three hours to make in to the radio station by 5pm. First of all I normally like long distance driving because I just crank up my radio and jam out with the windows down and just cruise but it poured down rain almost my entire drive. I am 23 so I have now been basically driving for 8 years and I have NEVER driven in rain as bad as yesterday. I hate driving in the rain in the first place and to know that I was crunched for time because I had to be in Raleigh by 5 made it even worse. But I just took it slow and finally made it around 4:45. Thankfully I had time to spare so I stopped by a gas station and grabbed a bottle of water then headed to the station.

When I arrived at the station I went upstairs to grab my G105 shirt and change clothes and put on make up. I pretty much turned the iHeartMedia bathroom into my own personal dressing room. I had make up and my hairbrush all over the counter and the secretary comes in and says “girl you getting ready in here or what?” and I just explained that I had driven three hours after having class at 8am and then had to get ready for the concert and then she just laughed and said “you go girl.”

After I was finally all ready to go I headed out to the lobby to grab supplied and put them on Ms.Dolly (our cart that carries stuff for us). Myself, Tiana (fellow intern), and Nicole (supervisor) headed down and loaded up the van with all the supplies we would need for the concert. This list included:

(2) Speakers with cords and stands

-Registration Box

(1) Mic with mic cord

-One Sheet (Win ticket upgrades)

Portable PA

-Registration Pads & plenty of pens

Nice Camera

-G105 Banners

Duct Tape

-Scissors

Table

-Plenty of Staples / Staple gun

Table Cloth

-Zip ties

So Nicole told Tiana and me we could head on out the Creek and park near the main gate and she would be there soon. So even though I have lived in the Raleigh area my whole entire life I put the Walnut Creek Amphitheatre into my GPS. Well this is like 5 o’clock 6 o’clock Raleigh traffic and my GPS tells me a different way so I got all confused and then Tiana was following my so she got confused and we got separated but either way we finally made it to The Creek and got to park right near the main gate ($30 premier parking) for free #InternshipPerks and waited for Nicole.

So once Nicole gets there with the van we load everything up on Ms. Dolly and carry it into the concert and set up right on the iHeartMedia deck. Tonight we had a raffle for ticket upgrades and corn hole. So we set everything up and the speaker to play out station. Then just hung around getting people to sign up for the drawing and playing corn hole. It was a lot of fun and then even though I do like 5SOS (5 Seconds of Summer) I wasn’t planning on staying for the show since I knew I had to be at the station by 5am tomorrow morning and I was exhausted from driving all day but then Nicole decided to give Tiana and I her tickets that were actual seats and Tiana wanted to stay so I figured sure why not. So we worked until 7:15 then called then announced the winner for the drawing and packed up everything back on Ms. Dolly.

Well after we are done putting everything back in the van we are free to go off on our own. So Tiana and I grabbed our new tickets and headed back inside the main gates. Well the whole night we worried it was going to rain so I had already decided if it started I was leaving even if I did have an umbrella. I was so thirsty and hungry so I decided to get a big drink (with free refills) and small popcorn. My total price -$13!!!! Food/beverages at concerts are so ridiculously priced but I hadn’t eaten or drink anything in a while so I went and ahead and paid the money.

So now that I have a large Pepsi and some popcorn, Tiana and I head to our seats, which were pretty good seats considering I’m usually sitting at the back of the lawn. We watch all of the opener which is a band called “Hey Violet” (go check them out). Then finally it was time for 5SOS and let me tell you I know I used to be one of these girls with bands like Backstreet Boys and N’SYNC but it was insane the amount of volume these girls can get to when a boy band shows up on stage. I guess that is one sign I’m getting older. Anyways 5SOS is in the middle of their third song and it just starts POURING DOWN RAIN!! It was that kind of rain that comes down so hard it pure hurts so I put up my umbrella and said lets go Tiana!!! It was the funniest thing—here Tiana and me are squished under this tiny umbrella in flip flops trying to run to our car at the main gate which is on the other side of where we were sitting. By the time I got to my car I was so cold and wet it was insane!!!

But even though I got rained on…. the concert (well what I saw of it) was great and working it was so fun because I got to play corn hole and interact with listeners in a relaxed setting, plus get to see a great concert for free!

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page